Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!

Currently listening to Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ latest offering, Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! As of now, I like it about as much as Grinderman. The title song especially rules. But I might as well show myself a philistine and say that I liked Abattoir Blues/Lyre of Orpheus a lot more. For those who think that’s wussy, I will say that actually, nothing here is as raw as “Hiding All Away” on that one.

Anyway, at fifty, Nick’s tons better than most fifty-year-olds, and, quite surprisingly, has only released one bad album to date – Nocturama, and even that had “Bring It On” on it.

For Lazarus, Cave and his mates have released a viral campaign on the internet tubes. It is a very funny set of videos based around séances, with Nick playing the medium. Here they are:

  1. “Lest I Shiver”
  2. “Place Your Hands Upon the Table”
  3. “Is There Spirits in the Room?”
  4. “Place Your Finger Upon the Planchette!”
  5. “Dim the Lights!”
  6. “Blindfold Me Sir!”
  7. “Can You Feel the Spirit?” (my favourite)

And the music video for the title song can be seen here.

4 responses to “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!

  1. Blindfold me sir!

    (Grin. I desire Grinderman. Actually, I also desire Dig, Lazarus, Dig!. Just saying, is all.)

  2. Hint taken, dearie!

    My favourite is the chap next to him whispering “of the ether!” when he flubs.

  3. Man u can write…gr8 writting

  4. The Corporate machine has finally gotten your soul! No new blogposts since a long time! :P

Leave a Reply

